Bereans contra Sola Scriptura

4 comments

  1. Mark T.

    LOL! I can not count the number of times I have heard this argument since I’ve started to defend our Faith, De Maria. Yet all one has to do is read the ENTIRE encounter and see how the Bereans chased St. Paul out of town because they didn’t believe what he was preaching. So either the scripture verse destroys sola scriptura or it proves St. Paul is an idiot who couldn’t remember anything he was taught, thus casting a very dark shadow on all of St. Paul’s writings.

    I’ll put my money on the former

    God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mark T.

      Correction! I meant to say how the Thessalonians ran Paul out of town and the Bereans “received the word” with a readiness of mind AND read the Scriptures to see if what Paul was speaking of was true.. Sorry about that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • De Maria

        I knew what you meant. But I’m glad you caught it. Yep. If it was Scripture alone, why not just drop off some Bibles and move on, right? And why argue with them from Scripture, if the Scriptures are perspicuous and the Holy Spirit leads everyone to truth?

        Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours, by the way!

        Like

      • Mark T.

        Yeah it was one of those “brain fart” moments. Sorry about that. I hope you had a great Christmas and I wish you and your family a fantastic New Year!

        Like

Leave a Reply

